Term Dates

Term Dates 2020/21

Please note: other than the 5 discretionary INSET days, which are allocated on a school-by-school basis, Derby Cathedral School has adopted the same holiday pattern as proposed by the local authority. Further details can be found on the Derby City Council website.

Please note that the return dates for students after the 2020 summer break are:

Year 7 - Friday 4th September 2020 8.45 am - 3.15 pm

Year 8 - Monday 7th September 2020 12.45 pm - 3.30 pm (Tuesday 8th September will be 9 am - 3.30 pm)

Year 9 - Monday 7th September 2020 8.45 am - 12.10 pm (Tuesday 8th September will be 8.45 am - 3.15 pm)

A calendar showing full term dates for the academic year 2020/21, and staff INSET days can be downloaded here: 2020_21_Derby_Cathedral_School_Term_Dates.pdf

Further information about timings of the school day can be found on our webpage 'School Day'.

Summary Term Dates

Autumn Term 2020

Friday 4th September (Year 7 only) - Friday 18th December 

Half Term

Monday 26th October - Friday 30th October inclusive

Spring Term 2020

Monday 4th January 2020 - Thursday 1st April

*School will break up on Wednesday 31st March as we have an INSET day on Thursday 1st April

Half Term

Monday 15th February 2020 - Friday 19th February 2020 inclusive

Summer Term 2020

Monday 19th April - Thursday 22nd July

Half Term

Monday 31st May - Friday 4th June inclusive 

*NB: Bank Holiday Monday 3rd May 2020 school will be closed

INSET Days  - Students are not required to attend

Wednesday 2nd September 2020

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Monday 2nd November 2020 (students will start this week on Tuesday 3rd November 2020)

Thursday 1st April 2021 (students will end this week on Wednesday 31st March)

Monday 28th June 2021 (students will start this week on Tuesday 29th June 2021)