Term Dates

*Please note the change in 2019/20 term dates due to the recent announcement about May Day 2020. School will be closed to students for an INSET day on Thursday 7th May 2020 and for May Day bank holiday on Friday 8th May 2020. The dates below for 2019/20 are now correct and have been updated.*

Term Dates 2019/20

Please note; other than the 5 discretionary INSET days, which are allocated on a school-by-school basis, Derby Cathedral School has adopted the same holiday pattern as proposed by the local authority. Further details are found via this link https://www.derby.gov.uk/media/resourcesforschools/governors/2019-20%20Derby%20City%20School%20Term%20Dates.pdf 

Autumn Term 2019

Monday 9th September - Friday 20th December 

Half Term

Monday 28th October - Friday 1st November inclusive

Spring Term 2020

Monday 6th January 2020 - Friday 3rd April

Half Term

Monday 17th February 2020 - Friday 21st February 2020

*School will break up on Thursday 13th February as we have an INSET day on Friday 14th February

Summer Term 2020

Monday 20th April - Friday 24th July

*School will break up on Thursday 23rd July as we have an INSET day on Friday 24th July

Half Term

Monday 25th May - Friday 29th May inclusive 

*NB: Bank Holiday Friday 8th May 2020 school will be closed and Thursday 7th May 2020 school will be closed to students for an INSET day.

Derby Cathedral School's 5 INSET Days (when pupils are not required to attend) will be as follows:

Friday 6th September 2019

Monday 2nd December 2019 (students will start this week on Tuesday 3rd December 2019)

Friday 14th February 2020 (students will end this week on Thursday 13th February at normal time)

Thursday 7th May 2020 (students will end this week on Wednesday 6th May 2020)

Friday 24th July 2020 (students will end this week on Thursday 23rd July)